The Boing Boing post that inspired “The Strange Case of Origami Yoda.”

Lots of people ask me how I got the idea for the book and my answer goes like this:
“I was messing around on the Internet and saw a picture of an incredible origami Yoda. But I knew it was too hard for me to fold, so I tried to make my own simple version. When I was done I realized it was a finger puppet and then … blah blah blah.”

Well, I think I have found the actual post where I first saw that origami Yoda.

It’s a Boing Boing post, written by Cory Doctorow himself. And it had a drawing of the Yoda, not a photo. It is, of course, the sensational Fukiami Kawahata model!

(I think this image is from the PDF of the Kawahata instructions, which is here.)

One odd thing though, this post is from 2005 and I would have thought the whole thing happened in 2006. Not sure what that means…

It’s funny that 5 years after Boing Boing posted this, people are still blogging/tweeting/facebooking various photos of the Kawahata model around. I get frustrated though, that most of the time Kawahata’s name is not attached. He deserves credit for his perfect little Yoda.

4 Comments»

  Superfolder Alex wrote @

Woah!

  Ethan Darth Vevelvis wrote @

Woah!

  Chewey wrote @

Bwaaaaa!

  samuel montalvo wrote @

i made one… it is so cool!!!


Hey SuperFolders, Leave a Reply... Please! (and don't be a Harvey!!!!) DO NOT ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS UNLESS YOU ARE 14 OR OVER!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,290 other followers

