NEW CONTEST: Origami versions of other books?

Hey SuperFolders!
Let’s change things up a bit here with a contest for books that are not MY books.
To enter this contest, you make, photograph and send in origami characters from other books, like, say, Captain Underpants!

You can pick ANY book you want, as long as it (a) not mine and (b) rated PG! I especially encourage you to pick your FAVORITE book.

Entries are due on Dec. 16. Please send in only original designs, although you are of course welcome to use my Yoda, Darth, Han, etc… as a starting point.
The prize will be a SIGNED copy of Wonderstruck, by Brian Selznick!

Send entries to contest@origamiyoda.com

100 Comments»

  SuperFolder Megan/Phred wrote @

How do I find out what books are rated I don’t know if they are PG or not

  SF cau2134 wrote @

Just ones that don’t cuss a lot or have a lot of violence

  Yodamaster wrote @

Do comic books count? And are Ian Fleming’s James Bond books OK?

  Robby wrote @

My b day is on dec 13!

  Tudor wrote @

Hey Tom, can you submit more than one origami?

  Andrew wrote @

Wow! Sounds stooky. But is rangers apprentice by john flanagan pg?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

That’s cool! Pg-13 probably okay, too…

  SF Brady wrote @

Can you please post the insructions

  SF Brady wrote @

The instructions for captain underpants

  Superfolder Jonas wrote @

can it be kirigami?

  Robby wrote @

I think I’ll do Greg heffley.

  superfolder dom wrote @

me too.

  AustinM wrote @

I had made one, but lost it. :(

  goe wrote @

no im doing greg ur not

  dylan wrote @

yeah i can do him

  Yodamaster wrote @

If it’s allowed, I’ll do James Bond.

  mattweb2000 wrote @

my favorite book? that would be origami yoda, nice try :)

  AustinM wrote @

If it’s ok to send in two, I already made one and have and idea for the second.
And is the Hunger Games and Maximum Ride PG?

  SF cau2134 wrote @

Hunger games is PG-13, but I think tom will let you make katniss or someone else

  AustinM wrote @

I already made Katniss!

  Robby wrote @

I did diary of a wimpy kid and super Robby! ( yes, I wrote and published super Robby. But it still counts.)

  goe wrote @

wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttttttttttttttttt????????????????????????

  SF cau2134 wrote @

I LOVE WONDERSTRUCK!

  Superfolder Princess wrote @

Can I do one on Percy Jackson?

  SF cau2134 wrote @

I was going to do that, but i guess i will make carter and sadie kane

  AustinM wrote @

What stinks about this contest is that you can’t do one of Tom’s books. I made a Fako for the contest, but I can’t enter it!

  Padawan Bryce wrote @

Im gonna do a campfire weenie.

  jwhitec5 wrote @

Can I do Ying from The Five Ancestors?

  SF Prime wrote @

What is wonderstruck?

  SF cau2134 wrote @

an awesome book about sign language and deaf culture

  austin h wrote @

massively bolt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 2:04 pm wrote @

this is hard. I’ll go with….. Harry Potter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 2:04 pm wrote @

I mean Harry Paper

  AustinM wrote @

Nice play on words, other Austin! I’m doing Katniss Everdeen and Maximum Ride!

  AustinM and NovaC wrote @

Scratch Maximum Ride! I’ll make Nova Chopz from the book that I’m publishing sometime next year!

Nova sez: Yay! I’m gonna get to be origami now!

  Gravity Falls Fan Max wrote @

Stooky, I’m doing that too! :D I’m entering Harry Paper, Dumblefold, Foldedmort, Origami Hermione, and the Creasley family! :D

  Not yet Superfolder Cam wrote @

Hi everyone I’m new. I’ve folded much origami of my own but never posted it on the site. So that’s why I’m called NOT YET Superfolder Cam. Anyway, I’m a HUGE HP fan. Those ideas of yours sound totally stooky!!! I made a Harry Paper and You-Know-Who (AKA Foldemort). I want to make Foldgrid and Neville Foldbottom. You got style man! :]

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 2:04 pm wrote @

Cool other austin

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 2:04 pm wrote @

and check out my simple r2> if you can’t read it all post it cleareer. Do we send tom pics or to we send the gami.

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 2:04 pm wrote @

I Have finaly finished. face isnt good but robe is awesome

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

srattch face not good. I made a new one with a nice face

  christian m wrote @

im going to do the 39 clues or gordan kormans islaND BOOK

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

Harry Paper; the folded one.

  jedi master yoda wrote @

im making percy jackson i mean paper jackson

  SF Prime wrote @

How many winners will there be?

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

I will also make folda-lovegood and Fold weasly

  Superfolder Kikievie wrote @

I think I’ll make Maximum Ride and the flock, but I’m not allowed to enter the contest :(

  AustinM wrote @

I’m making Katniss Evergreen (an evergreen is a tree and paper comes from trees. I know it’s a corny joke) and Nova Chopz from the book I’m publishing.

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

Clever other Austin!

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

Please Dom, can you tell me how to convert my r2 into yoda? “puppy dog face”

  Robby wrote @

No. You say: Puppy dog face*
If you use “s, it looks like ur talking.

  superfolder dom wrote @

The instrux should be up soon.

Okay. And you said I could use them in my book, right?

  Robby wrote @

Why is everyone making an Origami name pun for their character? I’m not.

  SF firk wrote @

I din’t!

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

Okay thanks so like this :” Please dom can you tell me how to convert my r2 into Yoda?” *puppy dog face*

  SF firk wrote @

?,why don’t you make a yoda and an artoo?

  austin h wrote @ 12 at 6;12 pm wrote @

No dom figured out a way to change my artoo into a yoda but He already sent instructions so I wont bother him any more.

  Robby wrote @

Yes.

  sf henryf wrote @

willy wonka please dont take my idea

  goe wrote @

a bunch of paper wad stuff

  goe wrote @

im harvey

  SF firk wrote @

AND IM A UNICORN!

  SF firk wrote @

WHO ALSO FLYS A SPACE SHIP!

  jwhitec5 wrote @

r we allowed to make stuff from video based books like club penguin?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

If you’ve actually read the book, yes!

  gabe wrote @

neat!

  Superfolder Princess wrote @

Sweet! Is a book about One Direction(the band just so you know) ;-)allowed? I would love to make that!

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Sure, why not…. as long as you READ the book!

  AustinM wrote @

Yeah, I have that covered with the Hunger Games LOL… I read all three books and saw the movie!

  SF firk wrote @

NOOOOOOOO!the fist post about 1->!
where no longer save!

  Superfolder Princess wrote @

I did a blillion times! hehehe

  superfolder dom wrote @

when will we determine the winner??

  SF Gavin W wrote @

Indiana Jones!! Epicly Awesome!!

  gabe wrote @

can it be a comic?

  valetreaty wrote @

Can i make an origami Julius Caesar? And can it be kirigami?

  SF Gavin W wrote @

Can’t wait to see everyone’s origami!!

  origamirocks wrote @

Can we make stuff from other books like Fake Mustache.

No he said that you cant do one of his books.

  Christian Chang wrote @

Dear Tom, I went to the website where you enter your pics of origami characters, but it said that it was a phishing website. So I sent the pics through email. Please say that it’s okay be cause I really worked hard on it and I want to win really bad

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Yes, you did it right. I don’t know what website you were looking at, but it was not mine…

  sf DaMIeN wrote @

what if your books are favourite ;)!

  sf DaMIeN wrote @

can we do bios? because then i could choose like anyone.

  sf DaMIeN wrote @

oh, and can we do a 2 piece person?

  Christian Chang wrote @

Please reply to my comment Tom and please let me be entered through email!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  dylan wrote @

im going to do the hobbit or lord of the rings i know how to make origami smeagol

  Bernie wrote @

I made a kirigami Batman from the novelization of The Dark Knight Rises, is that okay, since I know it’s based off a movie, and it’s PG-13.

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Batman started out as a BOOK! A comic book! So send it in!

  Christian Chang wrote @

Tom can u pleese reply to my comment

  Christian Chang wrote @

oops never mind about the above comment. so its okay and i am in the contest?

  mindstorm5712 wrote @

Can I do stuff that uses LOTS of tape?

  Super folder Tristan wrote @

Hey Tom, It is December 13th right now but if i have time i will send in a origami Batman! (My second favorite book next to yours!)

  max wrote @

Is The Hobbit rated pg. Probably not but I made a really cool Origami Gandalf and could I submit that?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Absolutely!

Tom, speaking of OTHER books has my book arrived yet?
Austin H

  AustinM wrote @

I just submitted my Katniss Evergreen!

  willg wrote @

can i do the twilight saga and i think that i can do a 1 direction origami for girls who like 1D

  Superfolder Princess wrote @

When is the winner determined???

  cullen wrote @

all the pics r due on dec. 16………

……. and probobly have no idea who i am do you

  cullen wrote @

i did an origami figure and so far, nobody knows what im doing tehe!!!!


Hey SuperFolders, Leave a Reply... Please! (and don't be a Harvey!!!!) DO NOT ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS UNLESS YOU ARE 14 OR OVER!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,287 other followers

