It’s Jabba the Puppett!!!!!! Press release reveals title, cover and plot synopsis! Coming Aug. 6!

JABBACOVER

Dark times have fallen on McQuarrie Middle School. When Principal Rabbski cancels art, music, and other elective classes to make time for a new program called FunTime, which is intended to raise standardized test scores, the students form a Rebel Alliance with the help of Origami Yoda. United, can they defeat the FunTime Menace and cope with a surprise attack from Jabba the Puppett?

JABBA THE HUTT SLITHERS INTO THE SPOTLIGHT AS THE STAR OF
THE SURPRISE ATTACK OF JABBA THE PUPPETT, THE FOURTH BOOK IN THE BESTSELLING ORIGAMI YODA SERIES BY TOM ANGLEBERGER.
NATIONAL LAYDOWN: AUGUST 6, 2013. FIRST PRINTING: 500,000 COPIES.

New York, NY, April 16, 2013—Amulet Books, an imprint of ABRAMS, announced today that wildly popular Star Wars™ bad guy Jabba the Hutt, transformed into origami star Jabba the Puppett, will be the lead character in Tom Angleberger’s next book in the bestselling Origami Yoda series. One of the biggest book releases of 2013, THE SURPRISE ATTACK OF JABBA THE PUPPETT has an announced first printing of 500,000 copies and will have a national one-day laydown on Tuesday, August 6, 2013. It follows the March 26, 2013, release of ART2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling, which debuted on national bestseller lists its first week on sale. With more than 4.1 million copies of the books in print, this series is quickly folding its way into the hearts and halls of middle schools across the galaxy.

“We have a very surprising cover star this time,” says bestselling author Tom Angleberger. “Jabba the Hutt wasn’t the lead character I was expecting. But I think once fans read the book, they will agree that it’s hard to say no to him!”

An extensive marketing and publicity campaign for the series will last throughout 2013. In addition to a planned
15-city tour, Tom Angleberger will be featured at the International Reading Association Annual Convention (San Antonio) and at the Texas Library Association Annual Conference (Fort Worth). The promotions—including a national consumer contest, national publicity, book trailers, origami video instructions, online events, trade and consumer advertising, additional appearances at national educational and library conferences, and a big social media push—will continue into the summer until August 6, when the book releases.

About the Origami Yoda series: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda was published in spring 2010, followed by Darth Paper Strikes Back, in summer 2011. Upon the publication of the third book, The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee, which appeared in August 2012, the series debuted on the New York Times series bestseller list. Art2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling, an interactive companion book to the series, came out in March 2013. The books have also appeared on the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Indie Bound, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda won the Association of Booksellers for Children’s 2011 E. B. White Read-Aloud award, was named a 2011 Notable Children’s Book by the Association for Library Service to Children, and has been nominated and won numerous state children’s awards across the country. There are more than 4.1 million books in print of all the books in the series.

The illustrations depicting Yoda and any and all other Star Wars properties are copyright © 2010-2013 Lucasfilm Ltd & TM. Title and character and place names protected by all applicable trademark laws. All rights reserved. Used under authorization.

197 Comments»

  kristinburns wrote @

Stoooky!

  SF Zachn and origami Plo-Koon wrote @

Awesome!Jabba! And it comes out the day AFTER my B-Day! And one of my guesses was Jabba! I might win!(didnt mean to sound like Harvey)

  SF Zachn and origami Plo-Koon wrote @

no ididnt win…Tom I commented Jabba and several others before Sf Owen and he commented about my comment saying it wouls be jabba. But my comment is no longer there! Not lying! Not trying to be a harvey but tom its true…sob sob sob

  SF Owen wrote @

YAY!! I was the first one to guess it right!

SF Oath- I did not look online

  SF Owen wrote @

sf zachn, im sorry, but im pretty sure (okay, positive, actually)I didn’t comment about your comment. plus tom might not have counted it if you put more than one name. im seriously not trying to be a Harvey, but I didn’t write a comment after you.

  SF Owen wrote @

ignore my below comment. zachn, I wasn’t commenting on tour comment. I had made a jabba post much earlier. I just forgot to write my evidence, so I happened to write it later under your comment.

  foldy wan wrote @

3/5 of the origami yoda books came out august the others on march.WEIRD!!!

  Psychic wrote @

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! Stooky!! suprising though

  Psychic wrote @

that jabba is cool. i like the tewcture and eyes.

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

BOOYAH! And today’s the Origami Yoda Expanded Universe Birthday!!! :D

Woohooo!

  origami mario wrote @

stooky plastic dinosaurs!!

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

Next year, when Origami Yoda 5 comes out, PLEASE don’t look at the leaked Amazon description!

I was first to know SuperFolder because of leaks like this! :0

We should all just wait like good little SuperFolders, and we’ll all be surprised together! :D

Anyway, WADA ULLLA TOOGEEE!!!

  Sf Robby wrote @

Dude, i think it was leaked the day Tom announced it. That’s the day I looked it up on amazon.

  D.J. Fett wrote @

Nope. Before he announced it, I saw the Amazon leak <:( I'm so snoopy.

  Weaver wrote @

COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

  SuperFolder Megan/Phred wrote @

This is Stooky to the fizzpop power
This is huttastic!
But PLEASE SFS DON’T SPOIEL ANY MORE BOOKS CUZ EVERYONE WAS SAYING
I KNOW WHO IT IS
AND HINT HINT!

  rfjfrf wrote @

I just said I knew it. I didn’t go and blab the whole title everywhere.

  Gage wrote @

hey hey hey… that was just 1 or 2 days before this post…

  SuperFolder CJ wrote @

Wahoo! Jabba rocks! Happy Birthday OY EU! I might have to make a few birthday doodles!

  Noah wrote @

Yeah! Jabba rules! (He told me to say it!) Yes, and Robby and any other SFs, please don’t do any spoilers. I ruins the excitement for other SFs!

  Sf Robby wrote @

I didn’t spoil it. I looked it up the day Tom was going to announce it.

  SF Princess wrote @

OMG THAT IS SO AWESOME!

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

Ok, so the two-letter cover star names go like this:

OY
DP
FW
JP (Jabba Puppett)

  Superfolder Tudor wrote @

You forgot R2

  SF Richard wrote @

I like it.

  superfoldergav in wrote @

awesome so the jabba instructions did mean something

  superfoldergav in wrote @

total rockets

  SFA wrote @

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  vipyodaclub wrote @

AWESOME! SUPER STOOKY MAN!

  SF JackT wrote @

AWESOME! SUPER STOOKY!

  not Jacob L. wrote @

0_0 OMG SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTTTTTOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! A little weird how he is the cover star though

  rfjfrf wrote @

Now we need instructions….

  AustinM wrote @

I must admit, when I saw this on Amazon, I was like, what? Jabba will be cool. PLUS: THIS BOOK IS OUT THREE DAYS BEFORE I TURN TWELVE. I MUST get it for my birthday… I may not have won the guessing contest, but I did win the Willy the Walking Waffle contest!

  judah wrote @

so lucky it comes out 11 days before i turn 12

  Shavod98 wrote @

WOOO HOOO

  SFnutegunray wrote @

SWEET MOTHER OF ALL THINGS YODA AND NOT ITIS BEAUTYFULL

YAHOO! I feel like I could take on the whole Droid army now because I’m so very happy! Another OY! Another OY! Another OY! Another OY! YAHOO!

  Sf Jared wrote @

Stooky!!! I thought it was jar jar but this is awesome!

  SFA wrote @

YODA WAS WRONG!!!!!!!!!!! *boo-hoo tears!*

  Dan wrote @

STOOOOOOOKY IT IS MOSTREVELY MONDTREVLY STOOKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  SF Eagleflame wrote @

Hey Tom, are you coming to Minnesota? If you are, where? Please respond!

STOOKY!!!!! The cover, release date, AND the cover star itself! PLASTIC DINOSAURS!!!!!! I can’t wait until it’s released! :D

:) :) :) :) ;)

  SF Gavin W wrote @

Cool. I wonder if the Funtime Menace is just a pun they use or if anyone will wield Darth Maul. BTW. Next time don’t go looking but if you do, don’t spoil it to everyone else or encurage others to find it.

  SF 1#starwarsfan wrote @

no the fun time menace is profeser funtime and his singing cauculater (basic mr good clean fun and soapy clones)

  Grant wrote @

stooooooooooooookkkkkkkkkyyyy

  SF TylerM wrote @

Superfolder Princess is misleading. I saw she commented Whoo- Hoo! Yah! and that stuff so I assumed that she won the contest and her entry was Wicket. Not to be a Harvey but that was just mean. (I’m just kidding, your highness, so please don’t cut off my head!)

  SF Princess wrote @

What? I just posted that because Jabba looks so cool :)

  Superfolder Tudor wrote @

Who’s wielding JP?

SF Tudor: Probably Harvey.

  SF Eagleflame wrote @

I say Principal Rabbski!

  Super folder Epvjupa wrote @

Has anyone noticed Salacious Crumb peeking out behind from Jabba’s back on the cover?

  SF cau2134 wrote @

Yah! Cool, Huh?

  Christian Chang wrote @

I have

  Super folder Epvjupa wrote @

So, were the E.W.O.K.S the “Rebel Alliance” the kids are forming?

And do members get an Ewok finger puppet?

  super folder cam wrote @

i wonder if dwight will be back…

  SF 1#starwarsfan wrote @

actuly he will

  StarWarsFreak4837 wrote @

OMG!!!! I was SURE it was JarJar!!!! Oh well, maybe next book!

  sf John wrote @

STOOKY!

  natedrake212 wrote @

Well, since it’s an attack against them, will Jabba be wielded by Harvey or Principal R.?

  SF Zach and origami Plo-Koon wrote @

Probaly not Harvey because he has DP

  sftimothy1 wrote @

Is this made of paper or leather?

  SuperFolder Isaac wrote @

It looks like a special kind of paper that has a weird texture, probably can get some at any arts & crafts store.

  SF Andy wrote @

Dude, that is awesome!!!
Stooky!

  Scott McDanel wrote @

NOTE: please make jabba paper
plus: how it it a Puppett?

  KimmyZee wrote @

Hutt = Puppett!

  Henry wrote @

wait, didn’t Rabbski in the second book say that origami are puppets?

  SF Gavin W wrote @

Tom, Who was going to be the original cover star for the 4th book?

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

Foldy-Wan Kenobi, I think!

(At least, when the leaked draft came out last year by accident, it was called “FoldyWan.doc”).

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

But Tom could’ve changed ANYTHING by then! :0

  SF cau2134 wrote @

Was not expecting that!

  SF cau2134 wrote @

Whoo 45th comment!

  Hansel wrote @

AWSOME TOTALLY EPICNESS STOOKYNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I can’t wait I am defenetly pre-ordering this when it is available for pre-order!

  SF Gavin W wrote @

You can on amazon

  Hansel wrote @

How long did it take you to make him?

  SF carson wrote @

yes! i knew it since that sneak peak you showed us with Harvey on it i was right i was right i was right lol i said that because the chapter in forturn wookie called i was right

  SuperFolder Isaac wrote @

OK, not trying to be a Harvey, but is it really Jabba or is Tom just pulling our tail on this one. If not, I almost FAINTED when I saw this.

  SuperFolder Isaac wrote @

It was really surprising!!!

  SuperFolder Isaac wrote @

Hey, speaking of who wields this puppet, I bet it’s Tater Tot trying to get back at Sara. I know, I know stupid guess, but what if?!?!?

  SuperFolder JC wrote @

Mr. Howell, maybe?

  shavod98 wrote @

Reblogged this on ShavodBlog and commented:
FINNALLY!

  superfolder wicket wrote @

wow! that’s the day before my birthday!

  AustinM wrote @

It’s three days before mine! That’s the second thing on my birthday list!

1: A 3DS
2: The Suprise Attack of Jabba the Puppett
3: LEGOS LEGOS LEGOS!!!

  SuperFolder Isaac wrote @

3DS is monsterly stooky! trust me!

  SF LegoGabe wrote @

Dude, you really know how to put your priorities straight (there’s a reason I’m called LEGOgabe).

  tanner hill wrote @

what kind of legos.

  mattweb2000 wrote @

wait… why would you make instuctions for jabba if we already have some??

  AustinM wrote @

Well, that Jabba has folded arms, eye spaces, and a tongue.

  rfjfrf wrote @

The arms look like a cool kirigami move. As well as the younge. I add kirigami to a lot of the designs I do. It doesn’t hurt anything.

  super folder Gonza or Gus on tablet wrote @

JABBBAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.SO FLIPEN STOOKY PANCAKES WITH BACON SCOPE.

  SFnutegunray wrote @

TOM MAKE INSTRUX PLZ PLZ PLZ

  Sf goldninjafan wrote @

This is so stooky and it looks different than the one already on this website

  superfolderVR wrote @

omygoshiwantitiwantitiwantit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :0

  Sf Robby wrote @

Guys I didn’t spoil it. I looked it up the day Tom said he would announce it. So stop blaming me. You wouldn’t blame Tom for spoiling it if he announced it that day. Amazon released it the same day Tom wouldve.

  Wewky wrote @

Really Tom? Good character choice though. Now I have to make instructions before he releases the book.

  superfoldermichael wrote @

Jabba he is… helps Mcquarrie middle school he does

  Purse Girl wrote @

He is so cool, he is in the phantom menace so I was close, I said any character in the phantom menace. But still…
That jabba is awesome!

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Hmmm well guess we just start waiting?

  SFnutegunray wrote @

La la la la

  SFnutegunray wrote @

I CAN WAIT NO LONGER *throws iPad*

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Well it still works

  SF Rex wrote @

when i saw it i was like “WHAT??!!!???”i really thought it was gonna be luke

  SF Tatsuki wrote @

me too

  10cocoa wrote @

STOOKKKKKKKKKKKY! Are those the original instrux. for him that are on the site, or new ones? I’m so excited, Jabba is one of my favorite characters!

  Origami Tim wrote @

I can’t believe Tom is making origami
Jaba

  Origami Tim wrote @

I’m making my own book! :)D

  Yodamaster wrote @

What we all want now are instrux, and that kind of paper.

  Origami Tim wrote @

Whaaaaa?! :(

  foldy wan wrote @

mind reader alert!Mind reader alert!

  SF Princess wrote @

Yep Yodamaster is right!

  SFA wrote @

in a way, i was so close (you know, how Lando disguises himself as a guard to save Han?)

  SFBrianTheNewGuy wrote @

well, you know we could just be super folders(not being a Harvey) and make a contest to see who can make the best version of the jabba on the cover with instructions

  SF Tatsuki wrote @

JABBA!?STOOKY!!

  zak wrote @

STOOKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  joejon9 wrote @

Hey-oh Im back

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Well I suppose this is going to be another long long long long long wait. . .

  Timothy wrote @

I’m making my own book 😄

  Sf Robby wrote @

Then you might want to go here :D http://origamichewbacca.wordpress.com/

  Henry wrote @

wooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
hoooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

  Henry wrote @

i thought that the activity book was the last one! what a relief!

  super folder cam wrote @

im so exided i can hardly speak! that is why i am typing.

  SFWIllK wrote @

This was way unexpected but looks cool…Tom, you should make a obi-wan book next!

  Superfolder yoda master wrote @

unexpected

  Houston wrote @

Super epic!

  SMM Billy wrote @

:0

  Super Folder Fettman wrote @

THIS IS SPARTA!!! ( I’m basicly saying that’s really awesome.)

  Noah wrote @

I cannot believe this. Tom, did you use the same instructions for Jabba the puppet and EZ origami Jabba?

  SFnutegunray wrote @

He oozes coolness and slime

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Mostly slime. . .

  foldy wan wrote @

and a gross smell!

  SF LegoGabe wrote @

Stooky Jabba! I’m kind of confused about him being a finger puppet, too.

  AustinM wrote @

I made a Jabba with the instrux on the site, of you fold a part over just a bit more than the instrux say, it’ll be a puppet. I still can’t pull off the tongue, eye slits, and hands quite yet.

  Henry wrote @

please make another book after this, because i really like Star Wars

  KimmyZee wrote @

I’m pretty sure that Tom will post instructions on May the Fourth!

  Sf Robby wrote @

He did. There is jabba instrux on the site.

  StarWarsFreak4537 wrote @

Well, no duh! I was talking about COVER instructions! DOYEEE!!!!

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Ohhhhh. . .

  henbuscus wrote @

JABBAS tounge ill just do jabba XD

  tanner hill wrote @

the book looks awesome!

  tanner hill wrote @

im the new guy.

  the new guy wrote @

Mr.tom, please put rota the puplet in the book.

  epic wrote @

WAIT A MINIUTE… JABBA IS MADE OF BUBBLE WRAP! LOOK CLOSELEY!

  SFnutegunray wrote @

Jabba is most likely not bubble wrap because you can’t fold bubble wrap

  Sf Robby wrote @

Yeah, and bubble wrap has rows of bubbles. The paper in the picture has scattered scales.

  the new guy wrote @

unless… your a jedi folder like mr.tom.

  Sf Robby wrote @

No. Bubble wrap has rows of bubbles these are scattered scales.

  Sf Robby wrote @

Stop saying I spoiled it. I said it was on amazon the same day Tom was going to tell us.

  the new guy wrote @

how in the WORLD can anyone fold something as total rockets as the jabba the puppet on the cover. ITS IMPOSSIBLE!!

  the new guy wrote @

tom actully suprised us because he told us the star would be darth maul then… BOOM! suprise, he told us it wouldbe the suprise attack of jabba the puppet. think about it.

  sf yodadude275 wrote @

Tons of people thought it was luke for the cover star (including me) and were wrong. You should just wait for tom to announce the cover star and not ‘spoil’ it for everyone.
But I was like “what??” when i saw jabba. But then i was like: “YAY!!!!”

  Superfolder yoda master wrote @

I think the next one after jabba will be… announced after these messages.

  Superfolder yoda master wrote @

Either Luke or Origami Wan Kenobi because this one is about the rebel alliance.

  foldy wan wrote @

I thought it was Jar Jar or Foldy Wan.Oh -no!My yoda is wrong?!

  Origami Yoda wrote @

Total rockets!

  Pandaman wrote @

Plastic dinosaurs!

  R2D2 wrote @

total rockets!
^_^

  SuperFolder Abby wrote @

Would never have guessed Jabba.

  SF cau2134 wrote @

I made a kawahata yoda!!!!!!!!!

  dimitri wrote @

yor books are awsome.my last name is harvey.

  DoomKnight15 wrote @

super amazing stookiness plastic dinosaurs boltness

  Sf Robby wrote @

At least I think I did. I might have to go check.

  Harris wrote @

This is awesome it is

  sf ace wrote @

superstooky hope next is luke :D

  Luke wrote @

i am your biggest fan!!!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$!!!!!!!!! can u add an origami bib fortuna in the surprise attack of jabba the puppet? i made one already!-luke

  Jar Jar Pleats wrote @

call it Bib foldtuna.and salacious crumple to!

  SF Prime wrote @

Amazing! I just got art-2’s book.

  Luke wrote @

i have an idea 4 your 5th origami yoda book: the mystery of Obi-Drawn Kenobi!

  Luke wrote @

i just got art2’s book. MONSTERLY BOLT, but i wish there were more reading parts!

  Luke wrote @

i agree with DOOMKNIGHT15. minecraft is a monsterly bolt game!!

  Luke wrote @

TOM ANGLEBERGER, listen up, i agree with SfRobby and Sfnutegunray, jabba is NOT made of bubble wrap!$!$!$!$!

  kristinburns wrote @

GUYS JABBA IS MADE OF GREEN BUBBLE WRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  sf nick the great wrote @

I pre orderd it

  Luke wrote @

2 things: 1, 4 the last time, jabba is not made of bubble wrap!and 2, tom, how do u pre-order the book?

  Luke wrote @

HOW DO U PRE-ORDER THE BOOK?!?!?!?!?

  superfolderVR wrote @

Well, no wonder Tom said the word suprise was in it and it was a suprise!!!

  jabbalover33 wrote @

techniccally its the 5th book but i got confused like i didnt know how to count

  SF LegoGabe wrote @

To celebrate, I am making a GIANT MINECRAFT COVER MURAL!

  legoboy11901 wrote @

now, my one question is, who has the jabba the puppet?

  superfolderethanmon wrote @

It provably Rhondella think about it . Also the book is a surprise

  SF cody wrote @

DONT BE A HARVEY!

  Sami wrote @

Why Can’t You Make The Surprise Attack Of Jabba The Finger Puppet Come Out Earlier Tom?

  cooldude111 wrote @

I pre ordered it

  Samuel wrote @

It’s so awesome

  Luke foldon wrote @

I want that book!!!! Please send me a copy!!!

  SAS wrote @

Yay another book!!

  mekell05 wrote @

SEND ME ONE PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  mekell05 wrote @

nice idea of the cover mural.

  mekell05 wrote @

who has jabba?

  mekell05 wrote @

IT COMES 3 DAYS AFTER MY BIRTHDAY YAY WIPPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  SF awesomeness wrote @

So can’t wait!!!!!

  Super Folder Ryker wrote @

It comes out on my birthday

  SF Kelvin wrote @

Can not wait.

  Sf Robby wrote @

Guys, bubble wrap is in rows and is impossible to fold.

  OrigamiYoda!!! wrote @

I love these books!!! Everyone in my class thinks im weird to read them. Jabba the Puppett… ATTACK!!!

  sf the dark lord wrote @

I FIGURED OUT WHO {…} REALLY IS!!!!!!!!!! IT’S Professor FunTime and his singing calculator who are clones of mr good clean fun and soapy the monkey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  SF 1#starwarsfan wrote @

AND I HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL AGUST 6 NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!*throws laptop out window*

  SkyTheKidrs wrote @

EpikNYESS XD

  SF jimmy rocks wrote @

I can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Hey SuperFolders, Leave a Reply... Please! (and don't be a Harvey!!!!) DO NOT ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS UNLESS YOU ARE 14 OR OVER!

