The Puppetts Take Manhattan! (and Brooklyn!) Here’s your chance to show off your Star Wars origami!

Imagine this: YOUR Star Wars origami displayed in Manhattan! Specifically, in the window of Books of Wonder bookstore to celebrate Jabba the Puppett’s launch!

photo27

Jabba Invades Books of Wonder!


It is a big deal for Jabba to get this opportunity! And to make it super waffles, I am asking you SuperFolders to make it happen, so that we can have a big, colorful, stooky window-ful of Star Wars origami to amaze New York City with!

Here’s a vid of a previous (non-Star Wars) window display there. Think we can we top that, SFs?

Here’s what you do… make a bigger than normal piece of origami. if you usually use a 1/4 sheet like I do, this is the time to use a whole sheet. And make it really colorful so it pops out! (Let’s stick to Star Wars characters for this. Characters from Jabba’s throne room would be extra awesome, but anyone you want is good, too!) Make as many different puppets as you want!

On the back in big letters, write your first name and the state where you live. (You can also write your SuperFolder name as long as it does not have your last name or other identifying information in it.)

Now mail it to this address:

Laura Mihalick
c/o ORIGAMI YODA DISPLAY
Amulet Books
115 W 18th St
New York, NY 10011

IMPORTANT: To protect your privacy DO NOT put your full name or address on or inside the envelope.
So be SURE you have the right postage on it, otherwise it will get lost in hyperspace!
Also, you will not be getting the origami back — I’ll be getting them afterwards! And I can’t wait to see what you guys make!

Photos of the window display will DEFINITELY appear on this site and who knows maybe in some other places, too!

One more thing: DON’T WAIT!!!! THE WINDOW DISPLAY WILL BE GOING UP SOON!

IN OTHER NYC DEVELOPMENTS….
The Brooklyn Public Library is trying to collect 1,000 Origami Yodas and/or Darth Papers. I thought we could help them out, so if you want to you can send some EZ Yodas and Vaders to them at:

Central Library
10 Grand Army Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11238

Follow the same rules here to protect your privacy… don’t include your full name or address.

There are no guarantees of fame and fortune with either one of these, but I hope you’ll do one or the other or both JUST FOR THE STOOKINESS OF IT!

Help us SFs! You’re our only hope!!!

77 Comments»

  SF Gavin W wrote @

Awesome!

  plankthewood wrote @

OH MY STOOKY! I AM DEFINALLY DOING THIS!!!!!!

  indy02 wrote @

folding someone now.

  kadenv wrote @

the minute i saw this i started folding a bib fortuna

  Sf Fisto wrote @

Gotta fold,gotta fold,I just remembered
Who am I supposed to fold

  Purse Girl wrote @

so am i i am folding (blah) holding up (blah blah)

  superfolderethanmon wrote @

I CAN’T HELP I’m IN ECUADOR FOR VACATION (flails arms in rage)

  SuperFolder Megan/Phred wrote @

ill do it now!

  SF AustinM wrote @

I call Obi-Wan!

  SF AustinM wrote @

I want to send you my Snorlax I made you, too, but it’s just SW characters. BTW, I also call Starkiller and Jek-14!

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Save Snorlax for when we can post stuff on this site again! I can’t wait to see it!

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

It’s okay for more than one person to do the same character…

  ender firk wrote @

Call folding giant rancor!

  SF Zach and origami Plo-Koon wrote @

Time to call in the ninjago ninjas cover yoda Plo-Koon and Foldy Jackson!

  SF Robby wrote @

I’m going to send in a yoda for each.

  Purse Girl wrote @

Hey I have some questions
A) this opertunity will take my Yodas off my hands
And B) how long before you close because I can’t do it right now but next week I can. So how long cause I am nervous and I really want to do this.
Please reply back soon
-PG

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

It’s not super precise… I don’t know how long the mail will take from your house to NYC. I’m not sure exactly what day they will put up the window display, etc…

But the sooner the better!

  Purse Girl wrote @

Ok thank you

  Purse Girl wrote @

i am busy this weekend but on Monday will it still be there?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Monday would be plenty of time.

  Purse Girl wrote @

thank u

  wbfirk wrote @

What! The puppets take over man-in-a-hat-in?

  wbfirk wrote @

Well, I think a giant rancor could do.

  SF Fisto wrote @

How about a gunship

  SF Fisto wrote @

I call ki adi mandu

  Kungfutyla wrote @

OH YEAH!

  sfrockhopper wrote @

I sent in Max Rebo yesterday.

  darthshreder wrote @

I’m sending in an ewok!

  indy02 wrote @

I’m sending in a Boba Fett.

  SF Robby wrote @

Sending in Han Foldo in Carbonite.

  SDA wrote @

just keep folding, just keep folding, just keep folding, folding, folding. what do we do ? we fold, fold, fold (finding nemo)

  SF Robby wrote @

I put Han in the mailbox along with my sister’s Yoda-ception.

  jason holloway wrote @

im doing my rancor. if you want to do it, find my instrux on youtube. it takes 3 papers.that are squares.

  indy02 wrote @

Boba is on his way. I can’t wait!

  SuperFolder Landon wrote @

Tom, Could I make a Fumiaki Kawahata Yoda? Or do I have to make something else? Also Dud you get the Puppets take Manhattan from the Muppets take Manhattan?! :)

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Make anything you like! Just make it big!

  SuperFolder Landon wrote @

Is 4 and 1/2 inches big enough? That is how tall he is the one I gave you a long time ago was about an inch tall. That was made with a 6 inch by 6 inch piece of kami. 12 inch by 12 inch is the biggest I have. Is that big enough? – SF Landon

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Yep!

  SuperFolder Landon wrote @

K

  SuperFolder Landon wrote @

Typo

  SuperFolder Landon wrote @

I Meant to say Did you get the Puppets take Manhattan from the Muppets take Manhattan?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Yep!

  Anonymous wrote @

Janna stole manhattan from the muppets!,

  SF Harald wrote @

plo koon, boba, jango, and yoda are coming!!!!!

  Yodamaster wrote @

I JUST made an awesome Jabba, but I just can’t send it in! I love hoe it came out too much! I may have to get more paper and make another one!

  mattweb2000 wrote @

I know how you feel! this pleat-koon is staying home!

  Sf awesome wrote @

Wait a minute…what are you putting in tom

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

It’s POSSIBLE that the real Jabba or real R2D2 will go in the window…

  SF Fisto wrote @

please use R2

  SF Awesome wrote @

Cool

  Jason wrote @

Tom is the origami yoda series non-fiction!?!Was that a part of your life

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

It’s fiction, but a whole lot of it is true.

The biggest thing missing in real life was an Origami Yoda. I didn’t have one… and I needed him at least as much Dwight does!

  stooky folds wrote @

tom i thought i was folding the rancor and some body else said he was folding a rancor

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Everybody can fold whatever they want. It’s a big window! Room for 10 rancors!

  stooky folds wrote @

and dos my paper its hanfoldo its got a lot of upgrades

  DJ Fett wrote @

KIT FISTO!!!

  SF Fisto wrote @

Already did that

  Yoyoda wrote @

I already made that

  SF Robby wrote @

I hope Han makes it. He’s going to be in carbonate for the window display.

  Jason holloway wrote @

The tower that jabba is on, it’s made from Legos!!!

  graphicfold wrote @

Tom, if I don’t put my address on the envelope, will the mail still be sent?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

Yes, but make double sure the TO address is correct…

  SF Director2911 wrote @

Tom, what if you live outside of America?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

No problem! Just try to mail it as soon as possible!

  SFWIllK wrote @

Isn’t that a lego empire state building with Jabba?

  unbeatible wrote @

I live in Italy so instead of a state I’ll just put “Italy”

  unbeatible wrote @

I’m sending an ewok

  sabermaster wrote @

I’m sending in my Luke. You can check it out. Just search “Sabermaster”

  Sf awesome wrote @

Hey everybody!
I need to tell you a secret:I’m not from america

  SF LegoGabe wrote @

I’ll send Luke SkyFolder! Should I do him in his Jedi Robes from RotJ?

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

That would be stooky!

  zbeforey wrote @

Hi! I’m running the 1,000 origami Yoda campaign at the Central Youth Wing of the Brooklyn Public Library. Just wanted to mention that, while supplies last, anyone who brings their Yodas to the Central Youth Wing in person will receive a Lego Yoda poster and a FREE book!

  Tom Angleberger wrote @

WOW!!!! Wish I could make it there in time!

  zbeforey wrote @

I’ll keep you posted on our status! I wrote a post on my blog about the Origami Yoda program I did last week, http://wp.me/p2h2e6-6I. You have a lot of fans in Brooklyn!

  magpielibrarian wrote @

To make extra sure that the Brooklyn Yodas get where they belong, make sure to also add “Central Youth Wing” to the address.

[…] It’s gone a wee bit viral since then, after being posted on the Brooklyn Public Library’s Youth and Family Page on Facebook, and picked up by a neighborhood blog, The Park Slope Stoop, and finally in (please allow a brief interlude for a fangirl *SQUEEEEEE!*)  Tom Angleberger’s blog! […]

  stooky folds wrote @

is it to late?
im working on not the rancor becuse 9 more people are making one makeing a new paper-ite hanfoldo to email it to tom is that okay?


Hey SuperFolders, Leave a Reply... Please! (and don't be a Harvey!!!!) DO NOT ENTER YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS UNLESS YOU ARE 14 OR OVER!

